Working out the best costume choice for you

Its a question that I often get asked as I have been costuming since 1992. I thought it might be good to post sugguestions for people who want to get into cosplay or are an cosplayer whos unsure.

Costuming can be fun and a good way to break the ice. When I first started I was nervous but once I got into it I had so much fun that I struggle to go to a convetion without one.

Costumes have been worn at convetions since they all began in 1977. Whether it be uniforns or characters many outfits have been worn over the years. Many people are intriged and want to join in this convetion experience but are sometimes unsure what to wear.

The first question that you should ask yourself is why do you want to wear the costume. What kind of response are you looking for. If you want a good reaction or just quite simplerly want to be part of a con trend.

If you want to create a good response then aim for a character costume. In my experience the more you look like the character the better. Most people look up to a cosplayer who can re-create their favorite character well. E.G My brother as Captain Jack.

If you want people to see you as a fan of a particular show/film. Then choose a costume that clearly shows what you are a fan of. A good example is Star Trek uniforms and Jedi knight costumes.

If you just want to be part of the fun then choose a costume that you will be confortable in.

Things to remeber when selecting a costume.

*How is easy would it be to make (could you make it)

*(if you can't sew) How easy wouold it be to get someone to do it for you.

*will it stand up to the rigours of conventions.

*Will you get to hot in it?

*how easy would it be to get props.

*if you do want to get a good reaction think about what is popular at the time of the event.

*Will it match the theme of the event?

Remeber there are always veteran cosplayers who are always on hand to offer advice. Don't be afraid to ask.