Newbie = good // N00b = bad

Rivaan

I've been seeing this a bit on the forums and thought I would make a post about it before things may become out of hand.

When it comes to internet jargon, the terms newb and newbie are not bad ones, and shouldn't really be used as such to generalise all new people badly.

When describing a newbie that sucks, the term n00b is generally used.

I see some people taking offence, when they are coined in with bad behaviour for being new.

So I think we should use the right word to avoid upsetting people? :)

And yes.. I'm a newbie. :YAHOO:

Edited by Rivaan

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think people have a right to take offence, however, when "newbie" is paired with "thief" or something equally demeaning.

I'm not a con newbie, but I completely understand why it would offend people when used in certain contexts, such as in the missing flag thread.

EDIT: Spelling mistake. Can't be having that. =P

Edited by Lenatalia

That's what I meant. The newbies are being blamed for things, when it's obvious that all newbies aren't bad.

What I was trying to say with my original post is that the troublemaking newbies should be called what the internet has deemed them: "n00bs"; to diffrentiate between all new people and just the bad ones.

It's more the assumption that whenever something bad happens it's a new person full stop that's annoying!

a lot of the problems WERE caused by people new to the scene (conventionally challenegd?)... that said, MOST of the conventionally challenged people were perfectly well behaved and not a problem. We are talking about a very small minority of people showing a lack of manners and disrespect.

It's more the assumption that whenever something bad happens it's a new person full stop that's annoying!