Things Ain't What They Used To Be

I have been attending film conventions, events and the like for over 20 years. Many arranged by Showmasters and just as many organised by others, including myself but they will remain nameless.

The main attraction aside from the celebrity guests used to be film and memorabilia collection. I'm talking about original and vintage posters and stills. This has sadly become a thing of the past. The whole event seems to have been taken over by Cosplay and stalls resembling car boot sales or the usual cheap tat you can find almost anywhere. The main difference is, it's not cheap. Now I don't mind the Cosplay thing although it seems to have got out of hand recently. The arena looked like it was Halloween with the amount of kids in dress up.

As I said, I didn't used to mind it but it's obvious that an event that used to be a Mecca for film buffs and collectors has now been given over to Cosplay and kiddie orientated memorabilia.

I know there will be people desperate to defend the event but I have been there from the beginning and watched the steady decline in dismay. If that's what the events are aimed at now, fair enough but It's not what it used to be.

Oh and one last thing............. deodorant and after shave or perfume wouldn't go amiss. That's not for the organisers, it's for those fans who don't seem to know these items exist.

• Like 1

I treat these events as signing events, rarely do I buy anything at the stalls. There is always one seller who sells stills, lobby cards etc. but he didn't even have them on display on Saturday, I asked him about them and he brought out a box for me to go through. The same goes for rare dvds or soundtrack cds, I can only pick these up online these days. I think, as sad as it is, the demand just isn't there.