1st time poster - Autographica 14 thoughts

maxf

Hi,

It's my first time posting here, but Saturday was my 2nd Autographica. I meant to sign up here after the last one, but life got in the way.

I drove up from London, so Heathrow would have been easier, selfishly, but Birmingham has excellent transport links for north and south, so thumbs up for the location. Also, being able to pay at the desk for everything by card was excellent and very useful.

My GF and I arrived at about 12pm and a few of the guests were tied up in photoshoots so we wondered around looking at the stalls. I like to enjoy the day as much as possible so don;t just jump in to getting autographs! The stalls were nicely done and well spread out - I recognised a few faces from Collectspace.

First I went to Al Worden who seemed to have a steady stream of people. I hadn't met Al before but he was a real gent (as all of the Apollo Astronauts have been when I've met them). We chatted for a few seconds about jet lag, and he signed my book, shook my hand and we were done.

While I was waiting for Al, a couple of people wondered past and muttered that we must be mad paying £50 for an autograph! A little random I thought.

Next was Tom Stafford. Contrary to the gasps when his fee was announced, there seemed to always be a few people waiting to see Stafford, which was good to see. I waited in line and got to the front to be told that unlike the other guests they didn't accept the 'autographica money' at this desk! Arrrgh - back to the back of the queue after obtaining the correct ticket. Stafford was a friendly chap, although we only said hello and shook hands (I couldn't think of much to say and there were people behind me waiting) - he signed my book as requested and off I went.